Social and Technological Innovation for Linguistic and Cultural Vitality


Prof Steven Bird

Sustaining linguistic diversity

Dr James Bednall

Community-led language documentation, revitalisation and maintenance

Dr Cat Kutay

Indigenous knowledge management

Paola Fischer

Sociolinguistics, multilingualism, language acquisition, maintenance, and variation

Prof Helen Verran

Charles Darwin University

Digital technologies, environmental management, and provision of education in remote Indigenous settlements

PhD Students

Angelina Aquino

Disaster communication, intercultural translation, and language technology

Siobhan Casson

Siobhan Casson

Language continuation in the Kimberley

Annie Edwards-Cameron

Digital collection management and language revitalisation

Tereza Hlaváčková

Sustaining traditional food practices

Henry Leslie-O’Neill (ANU)

Co-designing pedagogical resources for language revitalisation

Valerie Leishman

Pathways to participation and belonging

Julie Walker

Yinhamah: Transmitting women’s knowledge

Brandon Wiltshire

Codesign for language revitalisation

Former Staff and Students

Cathy Bow

Dr Cathy Bow (-2021)

Digital technologies and Indigenous languages


William Lane

Computational modelling of word structure

Advisors and Honorary Members

  • Prof Antti Arppe, University of Alberta, Canada
  • Prof Laurent Besacier, University of Grenoble, France
  • Dr Nicole Curtin, Honorary University Fellow, Charles Darwin University
  • Dr Rebecca Hardwick, University of Plymouth, UK
  • Dr John Mansfield, University of Melbourne
  • Dr Virginia Westwood, Protea Textware, Broome